"Big" Guys

Class B Boys
Forum rules
Please do not post just to complain about players, coaches, teams, officials, fans, or anyone else. Lets all try to demonstrate the spirit of good sportsmanship. Posts may be edited or deleted that do not comply.

"Big" Guys

Postby Baller » Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:47 pm

I was watching the classic moments between games and saw the Napolean 4th place game when Brian Hoff got a standing ovation. The moment still chokes me up. But it got me thinking that you do not see many "Big" Guys on the floor anymore. All the big guys are cut and muscular, not the typical lineman build that we used to see down low. Why is that?? Are the big kids not encouraged to play? Are they ridiculed and told not to come out? What has changed?

**Note: Please don't make this a forum to just bash big kids.
"I'm going to take my ball and go home!"
Baller
NDPreps Hall of Fame

Re: "Big" Guys

Postby letsgosox » Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:52 pm

in the school that i graduated from. many of the big kids were discouraged not to play because they werent a "prototype" basketball player. we had a few allstate lineman in school that i think would have had a huge impact on the game. if one of the "bigger guys" would decide to go out, there would be very few that could stop them. a few years ago Keith Buckman from belfield and Bittner from glen ullin, are a couple stocky guys that caused matchup problems and ate up rebounds. those two are the last of those kind of kids that i have seen.
letsgosox

Postby champs0607 » Thu Mar 13, 2008 9:24 pm

i think the reason most of the "big guys" don't go out for basketball these days is becuz they feel that they need to focus on the sport that they're built for: football. i suppose if they are over 6 foot they'd play a roll on the team but maybe they just already have the mind set that "big guys" don't play basketball. who knows?
"Don't give up....don't ever give up." Jimmy Valvano
champs0607
NDPreps Starter